patriotnanax.blogg.se

Remington 887 nitro mag recall
Remington 887 nitro mag recall









If you shoot with out a choke inserted I have noticed a build up of lead particles in the threads but no wear and tear that I could see. The “Flite control” wadding seemed to work well with the Tactical “Rem choke” as well as cylinder bore with it removed. As far as patterning the “Rem choke “ puts a nice 12-inch group at 15 yards with the Federal premium 00 buck. So far I have not seen issues with any type of ammo I have put through it and a smattering of 3” and 3 ½ rounds as well as some Winchester PDX defender all seem to work just as well. The types of shells I have regularly put through mine have been:īird/ Target loads: Federal 2 ¾ 6 shot, Federal 2 ¾ 71/2 shot, and Winchester 2 ¾ 8 shotīuckshot: Royal buck 00 2 ¾, Federal premium 00 2 3/4, and Herter’s 00 2 ¾ It has a thick stout claw extractor designed to pull out any type of husk. Out of approximately 1000 various bird rounds I have had a dozen hard extractions, call 50% of those from me not cycling the gun properly, so it does not seem to be trend with the 887. I have noticed some 870s dislike 2 ¾ bird loads with the extractor failing to remove the expended husk or tearing up the thin head. It shoots 2 ¾, 3, and 3 ½ inch loads equally well. Easy answer is to take off the screw in “tactical ported choke”, but then again, it wont look as cool and the DNA scraper aspect is always a bonus. Eighteen or so inches is about as long as I want something I would use in my house. The barrel is hammer forged and 18.5 inches long with the tactical choke adding another inch and a half. I would say curvy but unless you have extremely petite hands, you most likely will not notice. 041 inches, to the whole gun but it will never rust and can take abuse. Both parts are encapsulated in polymer, making it waterproof and tough. The stamped and welded steel frame, as well as the barrel, is molded with Armor-Lokt coating. This allows for a large 3.5-inch ejection port, and the whole assembly moves back on twin steel action bars.

#Remington 887 nitro mag recall full#

The bolt itself is a rotary locking lug system with dual recesses and a full hood. Some improvements to the system are the removable trigger group that allows you to replace parts without disassembling the receiver. There is a reason 870 shotguns are popular and the 887 draws its inspiration from its predecessor. All the cons I listed are small in my opinion to its pros. I honestly had to be very critical to find issues with this shotgun. – The 18.5 inch barrel and breaching adapter make it a bit long for a tactical shotgun. – The twin action bars are finicky on assembly (like all 870’s) – All the extra gadgets make disassembly more complicated, with more small parts to lose. – The receiver is thick and wide, and does feel more bulky than a traditional 870 – Plastic action release button on the trigger guard feels mushy, could be crisper and less recessed. – “ArmorLokt” coating, prevents rust, is scratch resistant and durable, weight comes in the same as a 870 tactical at 7.5 lbs. – Super Cell recoil pad that reduces felt recoil by 54% Easily removed and replaced with another choke if desired. – Extended, ported “Rem-Choke” which also functions as a breaching adapter. – Extended fore-grip with excellent texture and ergonomic shape allows for smooth manipulation of the action. – Picatinny rails for optics and flashlight. – Full rib and excellent “Hi Viz” front sight on the 18 1.2” barrel. Remington offers the 887 in a Nitro Mag base model, Waterfowl, and combo models so the technology works for many disciplines. Now I buy shotguns for one reason, home defense, so I cannot speak to its hunting and sporting applications too much. A few months later I had my own, an 887 Nitro Mag tactical. After shooting hundreds of rounds through his, from birdshot to slug, I knew what I was going to buy. Underneath the exterior Remington has made a few modifications to their design that improve operation. Its space age in a world of wood and metal, and regardless of its bulky appearance is a smidge heavier than its predecessor the 870. The Nitro Mag looks cool, and looking cool is half the battle. I did in fact bring it home in one piece. Lucky me, Howard had obtained his recently and despite his intimate knowledge how a fellow Marine can break things, offered me the chance to “break it in”. I first picked one up when I borrowed Howard Hall’s to attend a week long shotgun course. There was no reason to re-invent the wheel, so Remington refined it instead. For the most part pump action shotguns have changed little since John Browning’s model 1893, and most innovation (after double action bars) was a plethora of accessories you could add on to your favorite gun to make it as tactical, or look like bush. Remington has taken the venerable and reliable shotgun and pulled it into the 21 st century.









Remington 887 nitro mag recall